How to Find the Job That is the Right Job for You:

A Pathfinder

by Barbara Scheibel, Librarian

This pathfinder is designed to help locate materials useful in exploring different careers, job hunting, resume writing, interviewing and civil service test preparation. These materials can be located in the OCPL system, electronically and at local employment assistance agencies.

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Directories
Books & Videos
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Local Resources *New Announcement
Additional Library Resources


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

These reference books can provide you with basic information on specific careers and general background information on selected businesses:

O*Net Dictionary of Occupational Titles
Encyclopedia of Associations
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance

Top of Page


Directories

Directories will give basic information on employers, such as addresses and phone numbers, and often compile information in useful ways, such as by specific career types, or size of companies.

Business Journal Book of Lists – Lists the top Central NY employers

Dun and Bradstreet Million-Dollar Directory - Gives addresses, officers, annual sales figures and number of employees of the top US public and private companies

Dun and Bradstreet Regional Directory, Northern NY State Area - Lists business information on the Central NY region, and includes a ranking of the top area businesses

Greater Syracuse Chamber of Commerce Business Directory - Lists area businesses by product or service

National Job Bank - Includes major US employers by state and brief descriptions, training programs, job categories and fringe benefits. Industry cross index included.

New York Manufacturers Directory - Arranged geographically, and lists N.Y. State businesses by product and service.

Top of Page


Books & Videos

The OCPL Library Catalog will have many resources available for the job-hunter.

Here are some useful subject headings to search for materials:

Career Changes
Job Hunting
Vocational Guidance
Cover Letters
Occupations
Employment Interviewing
Resumes

To select the titles written most recently, select Publication Date in the Sort By field. Your list will be sorted by most recent title first.

OCPL has a wide range of books on the topic of finding a job. Here is a sample of some titles arranged by sub-topic:


Exploring Careers/ Job Hunting


200 Best Jobs for College Graduates by J. Michael Farr

300 Best Jobs Without a Four-Year Degree by J. Michael Farr

American Almanac of Jobs and Salaries

What Color is Your Parachute by Richard Nelson Bolles

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance

Games Companies Play: The Job Hunter’s Guide to Playing Smart and Winning Big by Pierre Mornell

National Job Bank

Occupational Outlook Handbook


Resumes and Cover Letters

1000 Best Resume Secrets by Diane Stafford

202 Great Resumes by Jay A. Block

Cover Letters That Knock ‘Em Dead by Martin John Yate

Dynamic Cover Letters: How to Write the Letter That Gets You the Job by Katharine Hansen

Expert Resumes for Career Changers by Wendy Enelow

Expert Resumes for People Returning to Work by Wendy Enelow

How to Say It in Your Job Search: Choice Words, Phrases, Sentences and Paragraphs for Resumes, Cover Letters and Interviews by Robbie Miller Kaplan

Gallery of Best Cover Letters by David Noble

The New Perfect Resume by Tom Jackson


Interviewing


24 Hours to the Perfect Interview by Matthew DeLuca

How to Turn an Interview into a Job by Jeffrey Allen

Interview Magic: Job Interview Secrets from a Professional Career Coach by Susan B. Whitcomb

Great Answers! Great Questions! For Your Job Interview
by Jay A. Block


Online Job-Hunting


Job-Hunting on the Internet by Richard Nelson Bolles

Guide to Internet Job Searching by Margaret F. and Frances E. Roehm


Success on the Job


The Big Sister’s Guide to the World of Work: The Inside Rules Every Working Girl Must Know by Jocelyn Greenky Herz

How to Be Happy at Work: A Practical Guide to Career Satisfaction by Arlene Hirsch


Civil Service Study Guides


The library has a large collection of in-library use civil service study guides to help study for civil service job tests.

The library also has circulating civil service test preparation booklets designed to help prepare for NY State and local government civil service examinations. These booklets contain sample questions in a variety of areas that have been the subject of previous examinations.



Videos


OCPL has a wide variety of circulating videos to help the job-hunter, including these selected titles:

Connect on the Net: Finding a Job on the Internet

E-Resumes

Foolproof Ways to Find a Job

Great Jobs Without a College Degree

Looking Good on Paper

Making the Mark: Tips and Strategies for the Civil Service Test Taker

Making the Right Impression

Navigating the Civil Service System

No-Brainers on Resumes and Cover Letters

Top of Page


Magazines

The library subscribes to many career and employment journals, including:

Career Opportunities News
This journal provides information on trends in hiring, careers, salary information, on-line resources and job searching tips.

Equal Opportunity
A career magazine for minority graduates.

Fortune Magazine
Provides an annual edition entitled "The 100 Best Companies to Work For".

Inc. Magazine
Publishes a special issue called “The Inc. 500 America’s Fastest-growing Private Companies".

Top of Page


Databases

For an index to articles on job-hunting, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

The library subscribes to many on-line databases, where users can locate basic and detailed information on companies. All of these databases can be accessed from the library, and many can be accessed remotely through the library webpage:

Business and Company Resource Center - Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals, including detailed business and industry news and information. 1980-present.
Hoover’s Online – Comprehensive coverage of public, private, and non-U.S. companies. Includes profiles, news, key people, and in-depth financials.
Reference USA – Business and residential phone numbers, addresses, and other directory information. Reverse phone number lookups; advanced mode searching by yellow page heading, business SIC code, zip code, SMSA and more.
Learning Express Library - Online practice for job-related and academic exams, including the GED, SAT, AP, ASVAB, civil service, U.S. citizenship, and reading, writing and math skills improvement practice.
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center - Detailed and up-to-date descriptions of more than 2,800 of the most popular jobs in 93 industries.

Newspaper Databases: Newspapers contain valuable articles on businesses and employment.

NewsBank: – Full text of the Syracuse Post-Standard from 1986-present, the Rochester Democrat and Chronicle from 1999-present, and the Utica Observer-Dispatch from 2003.

Gale New York State Newspapers
Full-text articles from 10 major New York State newspapers.

Gale Custom Newspapers
A full-text collection of 150 newspapers, both national and international.

Top of Page


Websites

OCPL Job Information Webpage contains many useful links to a wide range of job search and career websites, both local and national, and are broken down into the following categories:

Civil Service Jobs
Local Resources for Job Seekers
General Job Listing Sites
Resume Writing
Careers
Part-time Careers

Test Guides & Resource Booklets for Local Examinations
New York State now has a number of civil service study guides available online. Test Guides are published by the New York State Department of Civil Service and are generally targeted to entry-level occupations. These test guides contain no material to study or learn in preparation for any specific test. They are developed to provide candidates with a general description of the subjects on the examination and sample questions. Guides are in PDF format.

Additionally, the following  2 websites are good general starting points for the online job searcher:

Job Hunters Bible
This site is brought to you by Richard Bolles, author of the well-known book What Color Is Your Parachute? With over 30 years experience in the job hunting field, Mr. Bolles has some interesting advice for the online job searcher, and by starting at his site you will know just where to focus your search.

The Riley Guide
From Margaret Dikel, author of the Riley Guide, this site has links, advice and all you should need to steer you in the right direction with your online job search. Margaret Riley is a librarian who has spent years working in the job-hunting field.

*Ask your librarian to help you locate these or other relevant materials in the library.

Top of Page


Local Resources

Local Employment Service Contacts

* "Getting That Job in Government" - A five-week, free workshop at Beauchamp Branch Library

There are several agencies that provide employment counseling and assistance in the central New York area:

CNY Works
NY State Job Service – One Stop
443 N. Franklin Street, Lower Level
Syracuse, New York 13204
315-473-8250

CNY Works offers a dynamic range of cost-free services for the job seeker, including:

Career Planning
Job Search Assistance
Individualized Skill Assessment
Resume Development
Computer and Internet Access
GED Preparation
Interviewing Skills

Job Corps
Syracuse Office:
224 Harrison St., Suite 212
Syracuse, New York 13202
315-478-5529
1-800-375-8056

Job Corps is a no-cost, federally funded job training and education program for income-eligible young adults ages 16-24. They provide:

Hands-on training in more than 60 career areas
Industry-recognized certification in many career areas
Computer training
GED program
Drivers education
College level courses
Other job and education training programs

JobsPlus
677 S. Salina Street
Syracuse, New York 13202
315-442-3242

JobsPlus is a partnership between Onondaga Co. Community College and the Onondaga Co. Dept. of Social Services. The program is designed to help make the transition from welfare to the workplace. Services include:

Job Search and Readiness Workshops
Individual Case Management
Community Work Experience Program
Child Care Reimbursement
Transportation Assistance
Interview Clothing Closet
Computer Classes
Other Specialized Programs

Women's Opportunity Center - Displaced Homemakers Program
770 James Street
Syracuse, NY 13203
315-446-0550
www.womensopportunity.org

The Women's Opportunity Center now runs the Displaced Homemakers Program, a free service offered to displaced homemakers. Services include:

Job Readiness Workshops
Computer Skills Training
Resume and Cover Letter Assistance
Interviewing Techniques


Syracuse Educational Opportunity Center
100 New Street
Syracuse, New York 13202
315-472-0130

Syracuse EOC provide CNY job seekers with a Job Search Clinic, assisting with:

Resume Preparation
Cover Letter Design
Interviewing Techniques
Access to Job Banks
Career Counseling
Job Search Tips
Job Opening Information

Top of Page


Additional Library Resources

OCPL Local History Department
Central Library, Level 5

The OCPL Central Library Local History Department provides information on local company histories, newsletters, newspaper articles and resource books.

Annual Reports

Annual Reports are available at the Central Library for hundreds of major public companies and local public businesses.

Job Listings at the Library

Many OCPL libraries have job listings available for the job seeker, both locally and nationally:

Civil Service Notices – Notices for Onondaga County and New York State Civil Service Jobs are regularly posted at the library

Area Job Openings – are posted periodically at the library

Newspapers – daily and weekly job postings

OCPL Library Website – Jobs Link - Will link you with many local and national online job listings. You will find links to sites like Monster.com and DaVinci Jobs.

There are internet computers and computers with word processing capabilities at most of the OCPL libraries. Please call ahead for availability.

Top of Page

Last updated September 5, 2008


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us