Grant Seeking, Proposal Writing & Philanthropy

A Pathfinder

by Peg Elliott, Librarian

If you are looking for:

Help in locating potential funders for your nonprofit agency?

Writing a grant proposal?

Management tips or how to structure a solid
fundraising campaign?

Trends in philanthropic giving?

The library has many types of resources that will be useful to you. Most of these are part of the Regional Grants Collection.
photo of Central Library's Grant Researchers Center


Directories
Books
Magazines
Databases
Websites


Directories

[Available only in the Central Library]

Guide To U.S. Foundations, Their Trustees, Officers and Donors


Contains:
U.S. grantmaking private foundations (approx. 38,500), community foundations (approx. 400) and nongrantmaking operating foundations (approx. 1,865); 4158 foundations giving only to specified beneficiaries (listed in Appendix B)

Use For Finding:
Foundation address and telephone numbers; application address(es) and contact person(s); establishment data; basic financial information; geographic limitations; printed material available from the foundation; application information; donors, officers, trustees, or other governing bodies; type of foundation; grantmaking status (if applicable); Employer Identification Number

Foundation Directory

Contains:
Foundations with assets of $2 million or more or total grants of at least $200,000 (7,549 foundations).

Use for Finding:
Detailed information on giving interests and restrictions, application guidelines, names of officers and directors, and selected grants (when available)

Foundation Directory Part 2


Contains:
Foundations with assets between $1 million and $2 million or whose total giving is between $50,000 and $200,000 (5,075 foundations)

Use for Finding:
Detailed information on giving interests and restrictions, application guidelines, names of officers and directors, and selected grants (when available)

National Directory Of Corporate Giving

Contains:
Corporate charitable activities, including direct corporate giving (non-foundation) programs approx. 669) and company-sponsored foundations (approx. 1,972)

Use for Finding:
Detailed information on companies and their giving interests and restrictions, application guidelines, and names of program administrators

Foundation Grants To Individuals

Contains:
Detailed descriptions of more than 6,000 foundation programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers.

Use for Finding:
Educational support – scholarships, fellowships, loans, and internships
Students and graduates of specific schools, arts and cultural support
Awards, prizes, and grants by nomination, research and professional support

Guide To Federal Funding For Governments And Nonprofits

Contains:
Key facts and insider tips for tapping more than 750 federal aid programs offering funds for: housing, parks and museums, social services, community facilities, job training, services for the elderly, public health and more. The clear explanations help you compare different programs in terms of eligibility requirements and uses of funds. Regular Updates include new and updated program descriptions, as well as articles detailing new legislation and regulations, budget action and funding trends.

Foundation Today Series


Contains:
Unique collection of facts and figures on private and community foundations and their giving contained within the following three individual titles:

Foundation Giving Trends: Update on Funding Priorities

Examines 2004 grantmaking patterns of a sample of more than 1,000 larger U.S. foundations, and compares current giving priorities with trends since 1990

Foundation Growth and Giving Estimates: Current Outlook
Provides a first look at estimates of foundation giving for 2005 and final statistics on actual giving and assets for 2004. It also presents new top 100 foundation lists.

Foundation Yearbook: Facts and Figures on Private and Community Foundations
Documents the growth in number, giving, and assets of all active U.S. foundations from 1975 through 2004.

Top of Page


Books

‘Must reads’, published by the Foundation Center

book cover image - Foundation Fundamentals - A Guide for Grantseekers
book cover image - Foundation Center's guide to Proposal Writing
book cover image - Guide to Winning Proposals

Foundation Fundamentals: A Guide for Grantseekers
by Kief Schladweiler

Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing
by Jane C. Geever

Foundation Center's Guide to Winning Proposals
by Sarah Collin


New books added recently to the OCPL collection

Proposal Writing for Grants

book cover image - The Complete Book of Grant Writing
book cover image - Writing Grant Proposals That Win
book cover image - Models of Proposal Planning and Writing
book cover image - Successful Grant Writing
book cover image - Grassroots Grants
book cover image - Winning Grants Step by Step

Complete Book of Grant Writing
by Nancy Burke Smith

Writing Grant Proposals That Win
by Deborah Ward

Models of Proposal Planning and Writing
by Jeremy and Lynn Miner

Successful Grant Writing: Strategies for Health and Human Services Professionals
by Laura N. Gitlin

Grassroots Grants: An Activists Guide to Grantseeking
by Andy Robinson

Winning Grants Step by Step
by Mim Carlson

Nonprofit organizations

book cover image - Securing Your Organization's Future
book cover image - Fundraising habits of Supremely successful boards
book cover image - nonprofit internet strategies

Securing Your Organization’s Future: A Complete Guide to Fundraising Strategies
by Michael Seltzer

Fundraising Habits of Supremely Successful Boards: a 59-minute Guide to Securing Your
Organization’s Future

by Jerold Panas

Nonprofit Internet Strategies: Best Practices for Marketing, Communications and Fundraising Success
by Ted Hart

Fund Raising

book cover image - Fundraising: Hands on Tactics for Nonprofit Groups
book cover image - Essential Principles for Fundraising Success
book cover image - Fundraising with Ebay
book cover image - revolution in the mailbox

Fundraising: Hands-on-Tactics for Nonprofit Groups
by L. Peter Edles

Essential Principles for Fundraising Success: An Answer Manual for the Everyday Challenges of Raising Money
by G. Douglass Alexander

Fundraising with eBay: How to Raise Big Money on the World’s Greatest Online Marketplace
by Greg Holden

Revolution in the Mailbox: Your Guide to Successful Direct Mail Fundraising
by Mal Warwick

Top of Page


Magazines

The Central Library subscribes to the following print magazines. Some articles and e-newsletters can also be found on their websites.

Chronicle of Philanthropy
http://www.onlib.org/website/links/grants.htm


Foundation News and Commentary
http://www.foundationnews.org/

Giving USA
http://www.aafrc.org/

Grassroots Fundraising Journal
http://www.grassrootsfundraising.org/

Nonprofit Times
http://www.nptimes.com/

Top of Page


Databases

FOUNDATION DIRECTORY ONLINE [available only at the Central Library]

Find information on more than 90,000 U.S. foundations including direct corporate giving programs and company-sponsored foundations, 900,000 recent grants, and more than 400,000 key decision-makers.

FOUNDATION GRANTS TO INDIVIDUALS [available only at the Central Library]

Quickly search through detailed descriptions of more than 6,500 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers.

For articles about grant seeking, proposal writing or philanthropy, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card and PIN.


BUSINESS & COMPANY RESOURCE CENTER
http://www.onlib.org/website/databases.htm#business

An online database linked from the Online Databases page, can provide you with access to thousands of magazine articles.

NEWSBANK 
http://www.onlib.org/website/databases.htm#newspapers

A database containing searchable full-text of all locally written articles from the Syracuse newspapers from December 1986 to the present.

Use for finding:

Top of Page


Websites

Foundation Center Logo

The Foundation Center
http://foundationcenter.org/

The Foundation Center's mission is to strengthen the nonprofit sector by advancing knowledge about U.S. philanthropy. Use the Find Funders section to look up basic information on grantmakers in the U.S.—including private foundations, community foundations, grantmaking public charities, and corporate giving programs.  The 990-PF Search provides online access to IRS returns offering basic financial data, a complete grants list, the names of the foundation's trustees and officers, and other information on the foundation. The 990-PF may be the only source where grantseekers will find complete grants lists for smaller foundations. Use the Gain Knowledge section for access to free online proposal writing and budgeting basics short courses and tutorials.

Many more websites on these topics can be found on the Library’s Grants and Nonprofits Internet Links page, http://www.onlib.org/website/links/grants.htm

Top of Page

Last updated November 26, 2007


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us