Resources for the CNY
Gay/Lesbian/Bisexual/Transgendered (GLBT) Community

A Pathfinder

By Gary H. Jones, MLS

The GLBT community is frequently underserved when it comes to social services, government, cultural and library resources. This pathfinder is an attempt to identify local and national resources that will assist the GLBT community in locating resources to meet their needs including: medical/health resources; human rights advocacy; educational and recreational resources.

Encyclopedia
Books & AudioBooks
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Local Resources
Related Pathfinders


Encyclopedia

Baker, Paul. Fantabulosa: A Dictionary of Polari and Gay Slang. London: Continuum, 2004.
306.7 BAK

Top of Page


Books & AudioBooks

Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials:
(try both plural and singular spellings):

Gays
Lesbians
Bisexual
Homosexuality
Sexual orientation
Transsexuals

Books

Baird, Robert M., Ed. Homosexuality: Debating the Issues. Amherst, NY: Prometheus Books, 1995.
306.76 HOM

Chauncey, George. Why Marriage? The History Shaping Today’s Debate Over Gay Equality. New York: Basic Books, 2004.
306.848 CHA

The Gay Almanac. New York: Berkley Books, 1996.
305.766 GAY

Hunter, Nan D. The Rights of Lesbians, Gay Men, Bisexuals, and Transgender People: The Authoritative ACLU Guide to the Rights of Lesbians, Gay Men, Bisexuals, and Transgender People. New York: New York University Press, 2004.
342.73 HUN

Marcovitz, Hal. Teens & Gay Issues. Broomall, PA: Mason Crest, 2005.
305.235 MAR

Sember, Brette McWhorter. Gay & Lesbian Rights: A Guide for GLBT Singles, Couples and Families. Naperville, IL: Sphinx Pub., 2003.
342.73 SEM

Stevenson & Cogan, Ed. Everyday Activism: A Handbook for Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual People and Their Allies. New York: Routledge, 2003.
305.906 EVE

Stewart, Chuck. Homosexuality and the Law: a Dictionary. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, Inc., 2001.
346.73 STE

Top of Page


AudioBooks

Brockmann, Suzanne. Hot Target. Grand Haven, MI: Brilliance Audio, 2005.
CD FIC BROCKMANN

Cunningham, Michael. A Home at the End of the World. New York: Audio Renaissance, 2004.
CD FIC CUNNINGHAM

Dunant, Sarah. The Birth of Venus: A Novel. Santa Ana, CA: Books on Tape, 2004.
CD FIC DUNANT

Forster, E.M. Maurice. England: Sterling Audio Books, 1996.
CASS FIC FORSTER

Harvey, Andrew. Gay Mysticism: Ecstasy and Transfiguration Through Divine Love. Boulder, CO: Sounds True, 2000.
CASS

Sedaris, David. Barrel Fever and Other Stories. New York: Time Warner Audiobooks, 1998.
CASS 813.01 SED

Top of Page


Magazines

The Advocate. Los Angeles: Liberation Publications, 1967-

OUTWords, 2003- (OCPL Central, Local History/Genealogy Dept.)

The Pink Paper 1989-2001 (OCPL Central, Local History/Genealogy Dept.)

Top of Page


Databases

For articles about Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered (GLBT) Community, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

NOVEL (New York Online Virtual Electronic Library) is an electronic collection of books, e-journals, full text magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias and other databases licensed on a statewide basis for libraries and remote locations such as home, school and office.


OCPL Online Databases – Newspapers – NewsBank – The Post-Standard
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.

Top of Page


Websites

The Body - The Complete HIV/AIDS Resource
Information in more than 555 topic areas, including:

AIDS Basics & Prevention
Just Diagnosed
Treatment
Quality of Life
Policy & Activism
HIV Around the World
Conferences

SIECUS (Sexuality Information and Education Council of the United States)
“Affirms that sexuality is a fundamental part of being human, one that is worthy of dignity and respect. We advocate for the right of all people to accurate information, comprehensive education about sexuality and sexual health services.”

Top of Page


Local Resources

AIDS Community Resources
Through its staff and volunteers, AIDS Community Resources responds to the AIDS epidemic by working to:

Prevent the incidence of HIV infection
Enhance the quality of life for people infected with affected by HIV/AIDS
Collaborate in communities to address HIV/AIDS-related needs
Facilitate access to available resourcesEnd discrimination

627 West Genesee Street
Syracuse, NY 13204
(315) 475-2430

Al-Anon/Alateen Family Groups
A fellowship of relatives and friends of alcoholics who share their experiences, strengths, and hopes in order to solve their common problems. Various locations around the area, call for schedule information on meetings.

1118A Court Street, Room 35
Syracuse, NY 13208
(315) 471-0191

American Indian Community House HIV/AIDS Anycum OCE Network
Assists Native American communities providing culturally appropriate referral and case management services for Native Americans with HIV/AIDS

306 S. Salina St.
Syracuse, NY 13202
(315) 234-2424

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Resource Center, Syracuse University
The mission of the LGBT Resource Center is to provide education, advocacy, support, and safe communal space for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, and straight-allied students, staff, faculty, parents, and alumni of Syracuse University. Through the LGBT Resource Center’s services, the Center supports the overall mission of the university, "to promote learning through teaching, research, scholarship, creative accomplishment, and service”. The LGBT Resource Center works collaboratively with all faculty, staff, and students to promote shared responsibility for a campus climate that is safe, healthy, supportive, and respectful for students, faculty, staff, and alumni who are LGBT or questioning.

750 Ostrom Ave
Syracuse, NY 13244
(315) 443-3599

The Living Room
A drop in center for all persons affected or infected by HIV/AIDS, lunch is provided on Monday and Wednesday.

401 Montgomery St.
Syracuse, NY 13202
(315) 478-0367

PFLAG (Parents & Friends of Lesbians and Gays)
To promote the health and well-being of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender persons, their families and friends through; SUPPORT, to cope with an adverse society; EDUCATION, to enlighten an ill-informed public; and ADVOCACY, to end discrimination, and to secure equal civil rights.  PFLAG provides the opportunity for dialogue about sexual orientation and gender identity, and acts to create a society that is healthy and respectful of human diversity.

First Unitarian Universalists Society
250 Waring Rd.
Syracuse, NY 13224
(315) 446-5940

Pride Community Center
709 E. Genesee St.
Syracuse, NY 13210
(315) 426-1650

The Stonewall Committee
246 E. Water St.
Syracuse, NY 13202
(315) 476-6226

Top of Page


Related Pathfinders

New York Public Library GLBT Resources

Top of Page


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us