dog with tongue hanging out

Adopting Dogs & Finding Lost Dogs

A Pathfinder

by George Konder, Librarian

German Shepard looking attentive

 

Whether you are searching for a lost dog or would like to adopt a dog from a shelter or rescue group, this pathfinder will assist you with helpful library books, online database magazine articles and Internet sites.

Books
Magazines
Databases
Websites
Local Resources
Associations


Books

Here are some useful Subject Headings to search for materials:

Dogs Adoption
Pet Loss
Pet theft -- prevention

Top of Page

Books

The Adoption Option: Choosing and Raising the Shelter Dog For You, by Eliza Rubenstein and Shari Kalina.  Howell Book House, c1996.

Adopting Pets: How to Choose Your New Best Friend, by Bill Gutman. 
Millbrook Press, c2001.


Adopting the Racing Greyhound, by Cynthia A. Branigan.  Howell Book House, c1998.

The Best Finish: Adopting a Retired Racing Greyhound, by Carolyn Raeke,
T.F.H. Publications, c2004.


For the Life of Your Dog: A Complete Guide to Having a Dog In Your Life: From Adoption and Birth, Through Sickness and Health, by Greg Louganis and Betsy Sikora Siino.  Pocket Books, c1999.

Please Oh Please Can We Get A Dog? : Parents’ Guide to Dog Ownership, by Cheryl Peterson.  Howell Book House, c2005.

Purebred Rescue Dog Adoption:  Rewards and Realities, by Liz Palika.  Howell Book House, c2004.

Saved! : A Guide to Success With Your Shelter Dog, by Myrna L. Papurt.  Barron's Educational Series, 1997.

Successful Dog Adoption, by Sue Sternberg.  Howell Book House, c2003.

Top of Page


Magazines

"Bringing Lost Pets  Home: Implanted Chip Stores Owners Contact Info."  Ann Geracimos.  World and I, September, 2004, v 19 i9 pNA.

"Pet Project."  (Brief article.)  Men’s Health, March, 2005, v20 i2 p76.

"Dogs A Few Steps Ahead On Training: Consider Adopting a Retired Guide or Search Dog—Or a Puppy That Didn’t Make the Cut."  Kate Murphy.  Business Week, July 18, 2005, i3943 p87.

Top of Page


Databases

For more articles about adopting dogs, see OCPL’s Online Databases. Here you can access magazine and journal articles, newspapers, and reference books 24 hours a day using your OCPL library card.

For in-library use of the online databases, please see a librarian.

Top of Page


Websites

Central New York SPCA
Dogs in Onondaga County who have lost their owners or have been surrendered are available for adoption.

Forever Friends Animal Rescue
Dogs in foster homes in Central New York are available for adoption.

German Shepherd Rescue of Central New York

Golden Retriever Rescue of Central New York

Petfinder.com
Petfinder.com is a national database that allows you to post a free classified ad for your lost pet.  You can also search by state for dogs available for adoption.

Wanderer’s Rest Humane Association
A shelter in Canastota, New York with dogs available for adoption.

Top of Page


Local Resources

If your dog is lost in Onondaga County, immediately call the following organizations and file a report. 
You may also adopt dogs through the groups marked with an *.

City of Syracuse Parks and Recreation, Dog Control, 315-473-6608
*Dewitt Animal Hospital (shelter for dogs found in the City of Syracuse), 315-446-1200
*Central New York SPCA, 315-454-4479
*Humane Association of Central New York, 315-457-8762

Several local municipalities also have dog control officers.  Check with your town or village clerk for more information.  Towns and villages are listed alphabetically in the Verizon telephone directory “blue pages” at the front of the book.

The Syracuse Post-Standard classifieds list lost and found pet ads daily.  If you find a lost pet, you may run a free classified ad for one day to help find the pet’s owner.  Call 470-0032.

To adopt a dog from a shelter or rescue group, also consider the following local organizations:

Forever Friends Animal Rescue
Casey Newton
telephone: (315) 516-8344 between 8 a.m. and 10 p.m. daily
e-mail: caseyn13@hotmail.com

Greyhounds of Central New York, Inc.
Jonna Skehan, President
305 Third Street
Liverpool, NY   13088
telephone: (315) 457-7989 or 498-6672
e-mail: jonnagrey@twcny.rr.com

Top of Page


Associations

See Websites.

Top of Page


Home | Catalog | Databases | Ask a Librarian | Internet Links | Reading Room | Kids and Teens | Events Calendar |
About the Libraries
| Gifford Lecture Series | Site Index | Contact Us